Skip to Main Content

Neurosurgery Residency Faculty

Barrow Neurological Institute's academic environment ensures that our neurosurgery staff remains on the cutting edge of medicine, teaching and providing tomorrow’s medicine today.

To effectively train future generations of neurosurgeons, Barrow faculty members are committed to continually challenging themselves and staying open to new ideas and medical discoveries.

Robert F. Spetzler, MD 
Director, Barrow Neurological Institute 
Chairman, Division of Neurological Surgery

Volker K.H. Sonntag, MD 
Vice Chairman Emeritus, Division of Neurological Surgery

Peter Nakaji, MD 
Director, Neurosurgery Residency Program

Nicholas Theodore, MD 
Associate Program Director, Neurosurgery Residency 
Director, Neurotrauma 
Chief, Spine Section

Joseph Zabramski, MD 
Chief, Cerebrovascular Surgery Section

Curtis Dickman, MD 
Associate Chief, Spine Section 
Director, Spine Research

Cameron McDougall, MD 
Chief, Endovascular Neurosurgery

Kris Smith, MD 
Chief, Gamma Knife Section

Randall Porter, MD 
Chief, Interdisciplinary Skull Base Section

David Barranco, MD 
Associate Medical Director, Surgical Neuroendocrine Section

William White, MD 
Chief, Surgical Endocrinology

Andrew Shetter, MD 
Chief, Functional and Stereotactic Neurosurgery 
Director, Atkinson's Pain Research Laboratory

Felipe Albuquerque, MD 
Associate Chief, Neuroendovascular Section

Stephen Papadopoulos, MD 
Director, Outpatient Spine Care Center 
Director, Image-Guided Surgery

Fredrick Marciano, MD, PhD 
Director, Clinical Neuroanatomy Laboratory

Brian Fitzpatrick, MD 
Chief, Neurological Trauma/Scottsdale

Ruth Bristol, MD 
Staff Neurosurgeon

Raj Singh, MD 
Director, Barrow Neurosurgical Associates Diagnostic and Treatment Center 
Director, BNA Rehabilitation Institute of Scottsdale

Gregory Umphrey, MD 
Associate Director, Barrow Neurosurgical Associates NeuroSpine and Rehab Center

Taro Kaibara, MD 
Staff Neurosurgeon

Nader Sanai, MD 
Director, Neurosurgical Oncology 
Director, Barrow Brain Tumor Research Center

Kumar Kakarla, MD 
Staff Neurosurgeon

Andrew Little, MD 
Director, Neurosurgical ICU

John Wanebo, MD 
Staff Neurosurgeon

Luis Tumialán, MD 
Staff Neurosurgeon

Steve Chang, MD 
Staff Neurosurgeon

Francisco Ponce, MD 
Director, Center for Adaptive Brain Function

Mark Garrett, MD 
Staff Neurosurgeon