About Us

Dignity Health includes four accredited, not-for-profit hospitals in the Bay Area – Saint Francis Memorial Hospital and St. Mary's Medical Center in San Francisco, Sequoia Hospital in Redwood City, and Dominican Hospital in Santa Cruz.

All four hospitals are Certified Stroke Centers, offer emergency services, and have received national recognition for superior safety and quality from Healthgrades, a leading provider of comprehensive information about physicians and hospitals.

More About Dignity Health in the Bay Area

End of Life Option Act

On June 9, 2016, the California End of Life Option Act takes effect. It legally authorizes a physician to prescribe a lethal dose of a lethal medication so that a patient can end his or her life.


Volunteering is one of the most rewarding ways to help your community. At Dignity Health Bay Area, volunteers are vital to our patients, visitors and staff. It can lift a person's spirits - including your own.

Our Bay Area Foundations

We're committed to delivering compassionate, high-quality, and health services to the communities we serve.

Mission, Vision, and Values

Our hospitals are dedicated to serving, advocating, and partnering with the community.