Skip to Main Content

St. John's Pleasant Valley Intensive Care Unit Recognized with Beacon Award for Excellence

Dignity Health's St. John's Pleasant Valley Hospital's (SJPVH) Intensive Care Unit in Camarillo was recently recognized with the American Association of Critical Care Nurses' (AACN) bronze level Beacon Award for Excellence - an award which recognizes individual units that distinguish themselves by improving every facet of patient care.

The Beacon Award for Excellence recognizes unit caregivers who successfully improve patient outcomes and meet the following evidence-based criteria:

  • Leadership structures and systems
  • Appropriate staffing and staff engagement
  • Effective communication, knowledge management, learning and development
  • Evidence-based practice and processes
  • Outcome measurement

“The Beacon Award is a reflection of the Intensive Care Units’ commitment to exceeding the standards of care,” said Darren Lee, President and CEO of St. John’s Pleasant Valley Hospital and St. John’s Regional Medical Center. “We are honored to receive this national distinction and to be recognized as a leader in clinical excellence.” 

The Beacon Award for Excellence recognizes caregivers in stellar units whose consistent and systematic approach to evidence-based care optimizes patient outcomes. Units that receive this national recognition serve as role models to others on their journey to excellent patient and family care.

Other Beacon Award designations include silver and gold. Recipients who earn a silver level award demonstrate continuous learning and effective systems to achieve optimal patient care; gold level awardees demonstrate excellent and sustained unit performance and patient outcomes.

Established in 2003, the Beacon Award for Excellence offers a road map to help guide exceptional care through improved outcomes and greater overall patient satisfaction. U.S. or Canadian units where patients receive their principal nursing care after hospital admission qualify for this excellence award. Units that receive the Beacon Award for Excellence meet criteria in six categories: leadership structures and systems; appropriate staffing and staff engagement; effective communication, knowledge management, learning and development; evidence-based practice and processes; and outcome measurement. Learn more.

About the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses

Founded in 1969 and based in Aliso Viejo, Calif., the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN) is the largest specialty nursing organization in the world. AACN joins together the interests of more than 500,000 acute and critical care nurses and claims more than 235 chapters worldwide. The organization’s vision is to create a healthcare system driven by the needs of patients and their families in which acute and critical care nurses make their optimal contribution. Learn more about AACN

Publish date: 

Monday, April 11, 2016