Skip to Main Content

Mercy Medical Center Mt. Shasta awarded Primary Stroke Center Certification from The Joint Commission

MT. SHASTA, Calif. (July 14, 2022) - Mercy Medical Center Mt. Shasta has earned The Joint Commission’s Gold Seal of Approval® and the American Heart/Stroke Association’s Heart-Check mark for Advanced Certification as a Primary Stroke Center.

Mercy Medical Center Mt. Shasta underwent a rigorous, onsite review on April 12, 2022. During the visit, a team of Joint Commission reviewers evaluated compliance with related certification standards including program management, supporting self-management, and delivering and facilitating clinical care. Joint Commission standards are developed in consultation with health care experts and providers, measurement experts and patients. The reviewers also conducted onsite observations and interviews.

“This certification is the result of a concerted effort among our team of professionals who are committed to advancing the care we provide our community and ultimately saving lives,” said Rodger Page, President, Mercy Medical Center Mt. Shasta.

“Primary Stroke Center Certification recognizes health care organizations committed to fostering continuous quality improvement in patient safety and quality of care,” says Mark Pelletier, RN, MS, chief operating officer, Accreditation and Certification Operations, and chief nursing executive, The Joint Commission. “We commend Mercy Medical Center Mt. Shasta for using certification to reduce variation in its clinical processes and to strengthen its program structure and management framework for stroke patients.”

“We congratulate Mercy Medical Center Mt. Shasta for this outstanding achievement,” says Nancy Brown, chief executive officer, the American Heart/Stroke Association. “This certification reflects its commitment to providing the highest quality of care for stroke patients.”

For more information, please visit The Joint Commission website.


About Dignity Health North State Hospitals

Dignity Health’s three accredited, not-for-profit hospitals in the North State—Mercy Medical Center Mt. Shasta, Mercy Medical Center Redding, and St. Elizabeth Community Hospital in Red Bluff— have received national recognition for superior safety and quality. Each is passionate about providing an exceptional patient experience, investing in our communities, advocating for the underserved, and delivering quality, affordable health services to anyone in need.


Publish date: 

Thursday, July 14, 2022

Media Contact

Allison Hendrickson
Media Relations Manager

p: (417) 437-4076

[email protected]