Skip to Main Content

National Designations

Our Heritage

We are one of only 51 National Cancer Institute (NCI)-designated Comprehensive Cancer Centers in the nation. National Cancer Institute-designated centers are known for:

  • Comprehensive Cancer Care: The NCI Centers are recognized for their scientific and clinical excellence. Their focus is on providing extraordinary patient care as well as basic, clinical and translational research, prevention, education, outreach and training.
  • Research, Treatment and Educational Programs: These centers have undergone extensive peer review, met rigorous national standards and made significant contributions to reducing the cancer burden overall.
  • Longer Survival Rates for Cancer Patients: Studies have linked survival rates to place of service, with a mortality risk reduction and a significant survival benefit being associated with treatment at a NCI cancer center.

Accreditations and Awards

The Joint Commission Hospital Accreditation Program
The Dignity Health – Cancer Institute at St. Joseph’s Hospital and Medical Center is accredited by The Joint Commission, an independent, not-for-profit national body that oversees the safety and quality of health care and other services provided in accredited organizations.

Lung Cancer Center of Excellence
In early 2017, The Bonnie J. Addario Lung Cancer Foundation (ALCF) named St. Joseph's Hospital a Community Hospital Lung Cancer Center of Excellence, recognizing the outstanding care provided through the joint efforts of Norton Thoracic Institute and the Dignity Health – Cancer Institute at St. Joseph’s. For more information about ALCF, visit