Skip to Main Content

Osteopathic Recognition Program: “OMM for the Underserved”

Osteopathic Recognition (OR)
is an ACGME designation that demonstrates a residency program’s commitment to teaching and assessing Osteopathic Principles & Practice (OPP).  Osteopathic Recognition involves the incorporation of OPP into the six ACGME Core Competencies: Patient Care, Medical Knowledge, Professionalism, Interpersonal & Communication Skills, Practice-based Learning & Improvement, and Systems-based Practice.

The Morehouse School of Medicine Dominican Hospital Family Medicine Residency Program
received the designation of Osteopathic Recognition for its inaugural class of residents, becoming one of the few programs in California to carry such a designation, with Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine-CA as our academic partner.

The four tenets of Osteopathic Medicine will be integrated into our culture:

  1. The body is a unit; the person is a unit of mind, body, and spirit
  2. The body is capable of self-regulation, self-healing, and health maintenance
  3. Structure and function are reciprocally interrelated
  4. Rational treatment is based upon an understanding of these basic principles

Our Curriculum: OMM (Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine) for the Underserved
The heart of our program will center around a continuity OMT Clinic (Osteopathic Manipulative Treatment) at Santa Cruz Community Health Center (SCCH), providing Osteopathic care to the underserved community of Live Oak.  The teaching clinic will have built in mini-didactics.  In addition, robust monthly hands-on OMT didactics for all residents will take place during protected lecture time.  Inpatient OMT, OPP/Pain Journal Club, community OMT outreach, and two integrated MSK/Orthopedic rotations will round out our curriculum.

Designated Osteopathic Residents
will also have the opportunity to work with our Community-based Osteopathic Faculty in their respective practices, experiencing a diverse array of techniques, styles of treatment, and billing models.  In addition, there will be incorporation of OPP into Resident Scholarly/QI Projects, as well as collaboration with Touro’s Department of OMM.

A word from our Director of Osteopathic Education:

“Throughout my osteopathic journey, I’ve been struck by the concept that ‘Osteopathy is Service.’  Service is at the heart of what we do as physicians.  Founder of Osteopathic Medicine A.T Still stated ‘The rule of the artery is supreme,’ speaking to the vital importance of blood flow and innervation to all cells of the body, to promote optimal healing.  In line with this rule, our program will aim to let osteopathy flow from a heart of service, as we commit to helping our patients and our community find health and balance within.  Our program is honored to provide the service of osteopathy to the Santa Cruz community, encompassing its diverse and underserved population as the foundation.”

     - Gary Zane, DO – Director of Osteopathic Education

Program Osteopathic Faculty: 

  • Gary Zane, DO – Associate Program Director & Director of Osteopathic Education
  • Ashley Rubin, DO – Associate Director of Osteopathic Education, Core Faculty (FMOB)
  • Casey KirkHart, DO – CMO of Santa Cruz Community Health Center, Core Faculty

Community Osteopathic Faculty:

  • Kaitlin Best, DO
  • Lee Ann Cuny, DO
  • Joshua Fischer, DO
  • Sybil Knight, DO
  • Nathan Rheault, DO
  • Andrew Smythe, DO
  • Kristin Thom, DO
  • Mindy White, DO

Academic Partners: Touro University College of Osteopathic Medicine - CA

  • Natalie Nevins, DO - Associate Dean for GME & Program Development
  • May Lin, DO – Assistant Dean for GME & Program Development
  • TUCOM-CA Department of OMM